Book Review: What Katie Ate, Recipes and other Bits and Bobs

 

What Katie Ate - Book Review

Book Review:

What Katie Ate, Recipes and other Bits and Bobs

What Katie Ate: Recipes and Other Bits and Bobs [Hardcover]
Katie Quinn Davies (Author)

Hardcover: 304 pages
Publisher: Collins (28 Feb 2013)
ISBN-10: 0007458592
ISBN-13: 978-0007458592

RRP: £25:00

Book Review:  What Katie Ate, Recipes and other Bits and Bobs

One of the most pleasurable tasks I undertake as a food writer and food blogger, is to review books; as an avid reader of all genres of books, of which cookbooks are one, I always enjoy receiving new books to review, as well as cooking from them. When I was asked if I would like to review a book by the fantastic food blogger, food stylist and photographer Katie Quinn Davies who writes the hugely successful blog What Katie Ate, I was delighted to accept,as I have followed Katie’s exploits for many years now, and I’m an ardent admirer of her stunning photographs. In fact, it’s her style of photography and food styling that I aspire to replicate myself.

What Katie Ate - Book Review

There have been quite a few cookbooks published over the last few years that have originated from highly successful food blogs, but, this is one of the best I have had the pleasure of reading. The book is a large hardback book which feels and looks like a luxury book, not quite a coffee table book, but a practical yet beautiful cook book that will grace any kitchen bookshelf. I was instantly captivated by the rich imagery, which was not a total surprise given Katie’s beautiful images that are posted on her blog. The next thing that impressed me was the range of recipes, which struck me as achievable for all levels of cooks from amateur to more proficient chefs, and all beautifully presented with interesting introductions.

What Katie Ate - Book Review

The book is divided into the following chapters:

Introduction

Tips and Tricks

Breakfasts

Lunches

Salads

Canapes and Drinks

Dinners

Sides and Sauces

Desserts

Thank You!

Index

Book Review: What Katie Ate, Recipes and other Bits and Bobs
 The range of recipes is diverse, but, the proof of the pudding is in the eating, so over the last three weeks I have tried several of Katie’s recipes, of which our personal favourites were: Home-made Beans on Toast, Sizzling Prawns, Candied Pancetta, Balsamic and Persian Feta Salad and Slow-Roasted Tomatoes with Manchego. Other recipes which I have earmarked to make are: Caramelised Onion and Goats Cheese Tartlets with Balsamic Syrup, Creamy Macaroni Bake with Salami and Chilli, Beef and Guinness Pie, Katie’s Fish Pie with Crunchy Bacon and Leek Topping, Pulled Pork Sandwiches with Apple Cider Slaw, Pumpkin Ravioli with Brown Butter Sauce and Roasted Pecans, Mini Raspberry and Chocolate Meringue Kisses, Vanilla Bean Ice Cream with Salted Butterscotch Sauce and Honey Roasted Almond Brittle, Potato Garlic Gratin and Shepherd’s Pie with Roasted Garlic and Cheesy Mash Topping. 

What Katie Ate - Book Review

Katie’s Tips and Tricks chapter is very handy, and suggests tips and tricks for meringue making, chocolate tempering, cooking with alcohol, sterilising jars and bottles for preserves, blind-baking pastry for mini tarts and pies as well as a useful list of “my cannot-live-without” kitchen items. The index is set out in alphabetical order, as well as by ingredients and food types such as pizza, pasta and salads etc and makes for easy referral. Scattered amongst all of the delectable photos of the recipes, are beautiful images of vintage crockery, china, cutlery and pots and pans, which adds to the atmosphere of the book.

Book Review: What Katie Ate, Recipes and other Bits and Bobs

Conclusion and Rating: Lavender and Lovage awards a very well deserved 5 stars for this book for imagery, innovative recipes for all levels, quality of writing  design, layout and an excellent index. This book will appeal to all those cooks and readers who love Tessa Kiros’ Apples for Jam or Falling Cloudberries, or who are fans of Nigel Slater, Diana Henry or Nigella. The book is a visual feast of evocative photos and imaginative recipes with flair and seasonality, as well as honesty and diversity, and would be perfect for anyone who enjoys cookbooks and good food but wants something new and original. An inspirational book that would enhance any cook’s bookshelf.

Book Review: What Katie Ate, Recipes and other Bits and Bobs

About Katie: A native of Dublin, Katie Quinn Davies worked as a model and graphic designer before becoming a commercial food and lifestyle photographer shooting for some of the world’s leading food publications and advertising agencies. Katie’s acclaimed blog, What Katie Ate, has received broad praise and won the 2011 Best Food Photography Award from Saveur.com’s Best Food Blog Award. “What Katie Ate, Recipes and other Bits and Bobs” is her debut cookery book. She now lives in Sydney, Australia.

Book Review: What Katie Ate, Recipes and other Bits and Bobs

Disclaimer: I received this book free from Harpers Collins Publishers UK. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. Karen S Burns-Booth

Book Review: What Katie Ate, Recipes and other Bits and Bobs

GIVEAWAY:

I have FOUR copies of this book to give away worth £25 per copy, please see my separate Giveaway post HERE:

Win one of FOUR copies of Book Review: What Katie Ate, Recipes and other Bits and Bobs

Book Review: What Katie Ate, Recipes and other Bits and Bobs

 

Comments

    • says

      Aren’t the photos just gorgeous Jen? I have enjoyed this book ever since I received it and have enjoyed making several recipes, of which my favourite was the candied pancetta and feta cheese Perisan salad. Karen

  1. says

    This book looks wonderful with stunning photographs! Thanks for trying out and sharing your favourite recipes from the book and highlighting some delicious sounding recipes and useful features – It’s going on my wish list :)

  2. Victoria Yates says

    wow!!!! This looks amazing. I am a real addict for beautiful books, especially cookery books. It remains me too of Tessa Kiros’ apples for jam and falling cloud cloudberries and also Sophie dahl’s books – voluptuous delights and from season to season – all of which were bought by me because of their beautiful photography. Your review makes Katie’s book look and sound sublime. As always your blog and reviews make you want to stay in and make such beautiful food. Very excited to read this book when released. Thanks for bringing it to our attention. Well done! xxx

  3. says

    I have been reading her blog for a long time. Her recipes are fantastic and photography absolutely inspirational. I have been eagerly awaiting for the UK version of her book to be published

  4. Maya Russell says

    A super book review. I like all sorts of cook books but this one looks very inspirational.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>